Understated Truths

I love Commercials! They say so much in a matter of seconds! They make you want things you didn’t know you wanted. They make you need things that you didn’t know you needed. They make you hungry. They make you laugh. They make you sad. Sometimes, they even tell the truth, understated!

One of my favorite commercials of all times is a Johnson and Johnson Baby Commercial. It’s in black and white with a mom giving a baby boy, with fat rolls galore, a bath in the kitchen sink. There is soft music playing in the background, the sound of the chubby baby splashing and cackling in the water, and a woman doing voice over reveals the mother’s thoughts. The voice over says, “You always went for the tall, dark handsome types, so who would have ever thought the love of your life would be short and bald.”. Then at the end, She adds the understatement of all human existence, “A Baby changes Everything”. I tear up just thinking about it, but I feel the change everything part, should have been more emphasized!

When I was pregnant with my first baby, My husband and I wanted a little boy so bad it practically consumed us. It was all I thought about, and I did not want to think about the alternative at all. I kept seeing a blonde haired, blue eyed, boy walking thru my front door, covered in mud with frogs leaping out of his pockets. I imagined signing him up for little league and playing flag football on Thanksgiving day. My family was full of little girls, and well, little girls require a lot of maintenance. Bows, Head bands, Earrings, matching Shoes with every single Outfit, and did I mention, “The Drama”. I just wanted my first one to be easy and little boys are usually easy, right?

We chose not to find out what we were having because we wanted to be surprised, and because, well, i wasn’t sure if I could handle it if the baby turned out to be a girl. I remember being in labor and thinking, “I hope I can hold it together if this baby is not a boy! Please, Lord, whatever it is, let me just be happy that it’s mine, but Please, Lord, Please, let it be a boy!”.

Looking back now, all I can do is cringe. I can not believe I felt that way, but I try not to be to hard on myself. I did not know. It was my first baby and I had no idea what to expect. I didn’t know that when I looked at my baby girl for the first time, I would fall so hard and so fast in love, that I thought my heart might burst. She could have came out the color green, with three eyes and four heads and I would have not loved her any less. I could not have loved her any more. I know it sounds cliche, but I would have swam the deepest ocean, scaled the tallest mountain and laid down my life for her. I would do all those things and more, for her! Still and Always!

See, a baby does change ABSOLUTELY, EVERYTHING and I mean EVERYTHING! There is not a part of yourself, or the life that you live, that does not go untouched! I know this now. I, also, know now, that regardless of whether or not my children are boys or girls, whether they are honor roll students or high school dropouts, or whether they choose to live next door or a million miles away. They will always be loved by me, to the moon and back, and back, again!!

