Burnt Pancakes

I once was told that regardless of how flat you get a pancake, it still has two sides. One side may be a little flatter, the other side a little burnt, but there are still two sides. The same way with the truth. There are always at least two sides, two stories, two truths and it all depends on what side your flipping for to gain your truth, right?

When I was younger, I believed the truth was simple. The truth only has two colors, black and white. You either are or you are not. You either did it or did it not. You either do or do not. Only if I hadn’t got older I would still know everything about the truth, but I did. I got older! My truths are no longer simple and they are mostly gray, varying shades of gray.

The one thing that bothers me the most about all the shades of gray is that most people will still choose black. Why black? Why is it so easy for us to accept the worst, the ABSOLUTE worst. Have we all just been burned black so many times that white or even gray, are no longer in our color scheme.

I, myself, desperately want to choose white. White is elegant, timeless, and pure. It has no flaws or impurities. White is not complicated, it’s simple. As much as I long to choose white, I always choose to go gray. Gray isn’t perfect but it’s not burnt black either leaving you nothing to salvage. Gray combines the good and the bad and gives you something you can work with, something you can hold onto. As far as the pancake goes, it will always have two sides. It will always have a center as well, and that is where you will find the absolute truth!

