One More Night

 

Her clothes are laid out, pink horse shirt and denim skirt. Her backpack is crammed full of pencils, paper, crayons and scissors. Her lunch order has been placed and her shoes wait by the door. She, my baby girl, is outside enjoying her last day of freedom, while I am in the bathroom, trying to stop the tears from falling.

Tonight was open house at my daughter’s school, and tomorrow is her first day of kindergarten. I have had all Summer to prepare her, to prepare myself, and now I am pleading for more time. We need one more month of late night bike rides and swimming trips. We need at least another week of lazy mornings and sunny afternoons. And, I desperately need one more night to accept that this Big, Beautiful girl:

20120807-190728.jpg

is no longer this sweet, baby girl

20120807-190911.jpg

God Help me! Where are the Kleenex’s?

