I might be a Bad Mother!

At work, all day long my thoughts are with my children.

At 8:00 a.m. I wonder if Lauryn has quit crying after I dropped her off at school? Is she okay now? Did her teacher dry her tears?

At 10:00 a.m. I wonder if Skylyr has ate breakfast? Did he drink his milk? Maybe I should start giving him Flintstone’s vitamin.

11:30 a.m. It’s lunch. Did Lauryn eat what I packed her? Did someone help her open her milk? She’s so shy, what if she’s too afraid to ask someone for help?

1:00 p.m. Nap time. Oh, how I wish I was at home with Skylyr, snuggled up on the couch as he twists my hair with his tiny little fingers, while downing a sippy cup.

2:00 p.m. I must not forget to pick Lauryn up from school. Oh, my! What would happen if I did? Would she be panicked? Would someone call me? Would they report me to social services?

3:00 p.m. I am on my way to collect my children. I cannot wait to see them, hold them, and kiss them to pieces. I do and then it starts.

Five minutes after I’ve picked up my first bundle of joy, she begins her requests. “Can we stop and get candy? Can we pick Katie up? Can we pick Madison up? Can I go to Nana’s house? Can we go walking? Can I ride my bike on the road? Get me some milk! Where is my night-night?”. The demands go on and on…

Then I collect bundle of joy number two and he starts. “Can we go to Wayne’s? Can I ride my tractor? Can I ride Wayne’s tractor? Can we go walking? Push me on the swing! Get me some juice! Pick Katie up!”. The list goes on and on.

Does it ever stop? Can I move fast enough? Can I get an extra set of hands? I make one happy, and I make the other one mad. One wants to go outside, the other one wants to stay inside. I fix two different meals. I hunt down favorite cups and missing blankets! I charge john Deere tractors and corral ponies. I am utterly spent, and I am not nearly enough!

It’s a quarter after five p.m. on most days when I begin to day dream about work. Yes, I miss work! I miss the quiet! I miss the freedom! Does this make me a bad mother? Wait, never mind! Don’t answer!

