Spreading the LoVe

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”
― Fred Rogers

Today, as more of the victims of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting are laid to rest, and our nation continues to mourn their loss, many of us still have a burning to desire to help in some way, large or small.

We want the parents to know that we will not forget their child, and their memory will live on in all of us. We want the entire Newtown Community to know that we care. We are here. We want to help.

So, what can you do? Take Ann Curry’s advice:

Newtown’s heartbreak has a lot of us asking, “What can I do?” Thinking about this, I took to Twitter and asked people to imagine what would happen if all of us committed to 20 acts of kindness to honor each child lost in Newtown. I added, “I’m in. If you are, RT #20Acts.”

Tens of thousands of people on Twitter and Facebook not only seized the idea, they increased it to #26Acts, to include the heroic teachers, and are launching acts of kindness big and small all over America. The acts are spreading overseas, including one tweeted from Borneo.

It’s not too late to join this movement if you haven’t already, and it is never too late to be kind. It doesn’t have to be an extravagant gesture. It can be something as small as holding the door open for the person behind you, or mailing a Letter to Santa to help make one child’s wish come true this Christmas.

I do not intend to share every act of kindness I perform in honor of those precious souls, but I do want to share what I did yesterday, so you can help these children before they run out of time. All it will cost you is the price of postage or a trip to your local Macy’s store. Click on the child’s name below for all the details:

Gabriella Miller

Dalton Dingus

So, I challenge you not to just look for the people helping, but be a person helping. If you have difficulty coming up with ideas, here are some fellow bloggers who have joined the movement and are sharing their acts of kindness. After all, these are things we should be doing every day. Go and be Kind!

Adventures of a Mamarazzi

Tour of No Regrets

Stilettos to Slippers

20121219-143611.jpg

