How to Make a Cutesy Cupcake Train

image

I’m not sure I’ve told you all this before, but I love Pinterest! I love it for so, so many reasons. For one, it leads me to believe that I can do just about anything as long as I have a hot glue gun in my hand, and a stand mixer on my kitchen counter.

I start pinning, then gluing, painting, mixing, baking, and I am instantly transformed into Martha Stewart in her New England garden, or the pioneer woman plowing thru the countryside. Then my project at hand is finished, and reality usually hits me square in the face. My finished projects rarely resemble the pretty pictures I pinned (even if I cover one eye and squint the other). Something is always off. The cake didn’t rise, or the glue didn’t hold, or I didn’t cross my fingers and my toes, or hold my breath just right, but once, in what feels like a lifetime of pinning, I’ll get the very picture I pinned in the end or better. This just happened to be the case with this cutesy cupcake train I made for my son’s third birthday party.

The trick for a project to turn out like the picture you pinned is to take more than one pin’s word for it. I pinned several cupcake train tutorials, and almost everyone had a different way of making the train cars. So, what did I do you ask? I combined them, taking a little something from one, and leaving a little something out on another pin, to make my very own cupcake train. You can TAKE MY PIN FOR IT, this one really works.

You will need these items to make the edible train cars:

2 lbs powdered sugar (8 cups)
6 tablespoons of Meringue Powder
12 tablespoons of lukewarm water
1 box of Graham Crackers
1 package of Oreo Cookies (Yum!)
1 bag of Jumbo Marshmellows
toothpicks

Pure sugary goodness!

Pure sugary goodness!

First, you will need to make your sugar loaded glue, or should I say royal icing, to hold all the pieces of the train car together.

To make the royal icing, you mix together the powdered sugar, meringue powder, and water together for 7 – 10 minutes. or if you are using a hand mixer, mix until your arm falls off. If you are using a stand mixer, flip it on low, and have yourself a cup of joe. The royal icing should look almost shiny, like mashed up pearls.

Once the icing is done mixing, you can now start to glue everything together. I put the icing in a pastry bag with a round tip for even application, but you can use your granny’s spatula to do the spreading.

Now, take a graham cracker and spread a thin layer of the royal icing on the graham cracker
image

stick a graham cracker on top of the graham cracker you just placed icing on, so you’ll have a Graham Cracker sandwich.

Graham Cracker Sandwich

Graham Cracker Sandwich

Now, get your Marshmallows ready, and no, you are not going to roast them, but you do need to put them on a stick, a toothpick to be exact. Thread two Marshmallows on one toothpick. You need two marshmallow sticks for each car you plan on making.

marshmallows on a toothpick

Marshmellows on a toothpick

Now, you need to glue one Marshmallow Toothpick to each end of a Graham Cracker. The Graham Cracker should be on top of the Marshmallow Toothpicks.

Icing on top of the marshmallow Toothpicks

Icing on top of the Marshmellow Toothpicks

The Marshmellows glued to the Graham Crackers

The Marshmallows glued to the Graham Crackers

Now break out the Oreos, but you don’t have to do the twist (leave that to Mr. Chubby Checker). Use your icing, and glue a Oreo to the end of the Marshmallows facing out wards.

Oreo's make the tastiest wheels!

Oreo’s make the tastiest wheels!

Abracadabra! You have train cars. Add cupcakes to the cars, and a locomotive or pilot to the front (I used a Thomas the Train toy my son already had), and you now have the cutest cupcake train Ever!

image

Note: I am not responsible for any weight you may gain for eating one, too many, Oreos or licking the icing bowl clean. Eat at your own risk! You have been warned.

This recipe makes 8-10 train cars.

