Confessions

Pull up a chair. Sit down, and let me tell you about my life right now.

I am overjoyed that spring has finally sprung. I feel like a caged bird that has been set free, ready to take flight. My wings are spread open wide, soaring with the rhythm of the wind. My eyes behold the beauty of new birth and I am filled to the brim with hope, overflowing.

image

image

image

If you come in a little closer and dig a little deeper, I could tell you how my children break my heart a thousand times a day. My son is wild and unruly, but loves fiercely, with his whole heart. He gives sweet kisses and wrap-around-your-neck hugs, freely, like a flight attendant passes coffee and tea. I savor, each and every one, praying as he grows into a teenager, and then a man, that I will always remember how it felt to be loved by this sweet little boy.

image

I could tell you about my baby turned big girl. It seems like I just cradled her in my arms for the first time yesterday, and I stayed up all night, just last night, rocking her, rubbing her back, with her little face buried in my neck. I turned away just for a moment, and now she’s five, losing teeth, losing training wheels, and almost too big for her momma’s lap. My heart aches. She’s growing up way too fast, and there is nothing I can do to slow it down.

image

If you were sitting across from me, I would lay my hand gently on top of yours, and whisper so softly, this piece of advice, relish in the reality of today. Whatever this day has brought, sunshine or cloudy skies, it is still a gift. There will never be another day like today, so enjoy!

