My King

I live in the United States of America. We our a democratic country, governed by one man, a president. Our land is divided into states not kingdoms. Our population of people does not consist of Kings and Queens, Prince and Princesses. We are celebrities, farmers, social workers, missionaries, doctors, lawyers, thieves and robbers.

I, myself, am a common person, leading a common life. I have never touched ground on foreign soil. My eyes have not witnessed the pomp and circumstance of a royal procession. My feet have never trod the corridors of a massive castle, and my fingertips have never brushed the robes of royalty, but I worship a King, a mighty redeemer.
image

The king I kneel to, I have never seen, only felt. A king, part flesh and bone, and part God, born of a virgin birth in a lowly manager. His name whispered on the tongues of angels, his destiny inscribed in ancient prophecy. This King, my king, was not sent to rule, he was sent to serve. He spoke in parables, commanding his people to love and to forgive, spreading messages of hope in a world that had none. He performed miracles in his father’s name. He healed the sick, made the blind see, the deaf hear, and the lame walk. He breathed life into the dead and conquered the grave with a cross. My King, My Savior, loved. He loved….He loved you and me so much, he gave up his life…He died for you and me…so that we may live.

“I am the resurrection and the life. Anyone who believes in me will live, even after dying. Everyone who lives in me and believes in me will never die.” -Jesus (John 11: 25-26)

My king still loves and he still lives and his message remains the same. As we go through this holy week, many of us will buy plastic eggs and candy, search for the perfect dress with a matching hat, buy baby chicks and little ducks, and eat lots of peeps, but we NEED to do only two things. One, remember, always remember his sacrifice, brand it on your heart and believe it with every single fiber of your being. Second, walk in his message…live his words…LOVE. Sweet sisters and brothers, love!

“The most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’ The Second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.” -Jesus (Mark 12:29-31)

May you and yours have a blessed Holy week and a passion filled Easter!

